Duluth Scrapes by Harvard in Frozen Four

by | Apr 6, 2017

Duluth Scrapes by Harvard in Frozen Four

by | Apr 6, 2017

The winds howled on Madison Avenue as the Frozen Four got underway on the west side of Chicago. The Harvard University Crimson and the Minnesota Duluth Bulldogs faced off to start the final weekend of the college hockey season. They staged a classic game that saw Duluth pull out another postseason victory and sent Harvard to the end of their season.

The game got going with a healthy dose of hits and shots to let the fans at the United Center know that this would be a tight affair the whole way. The teams traded punches early followed by power plays. There were four power plays in the opening period and the first three saw shots, but Hunter Miska and Merrick Madsen made their saves and stopped any scoring.

At the 14:25 mark of the first period, UMD’s Kyle Osterberg was called for boarding and Harvard had their third power play in the period. They rarely miss when given that many chances. Harvard moved the puck well, found Tyler Moy in the left circle, and he gave Harvard the 1-0 lead with five minutes left in the first. Duluth did not go quietly into the intermission. With 1:36 left in the period, Duluth won a faceoff, got the puck to Joey Anderson in the slot, and the freshman tied the game going into the first break.

The second period was closely contested, but no goals were scored. Miska and Madsen stared each other down and did not blink. Madsen made 13 of his 36 saves in the second while Miska made 10 of his 39 in the frame. Luke Esposito skated exceptionally well for Harvard and Neal Pionk led the Bulldogs in the frame. And both teams had a power play and failed to score. At the second intermission, the score was stuck on 1-1.

The third period was played cleanly and desperately. The teams wanted a spot in the Championship game on Saturday night and played like it. Harvard picked up their intensity and had a chance to take the lead. With 5:41 gone in the third period, John Marino fired a shot on Miska that was saved. Tyler Moy followed up the initial play with another shot and the puck found its way into the net. However, the officials ruled that Miska had control of it for a second and disallowed the goal. They would review the call and maintain the call. Duluth had dodged a bullet but still needed a score to win the game. In the final minute, they finally beat Madsen.

Duluth kept the puck in the attacking zone, got the puck to Alex Iafallo on Harvard’s doorstep, and he put it between Madsen’s legs for the 2-1 lead with 26 seconds left to go. Harvard had one final chance. They pulled Madsen for an extra skater, won the faceoff, and forced Duluth into icing. With the offensive possession, Harvard peppered Miska for one last assault on the Bulldogs and the program’s fourth Championship game appearances. Unfortunately, Esposito had the best shot and he rung the crossbar. Duluth cleared the puck and survived a 2-1 thriller.

For Harvard, the loss may well have been the most painful defeat in their long history. They were in the middle of a historic season and had legitimate championship aspirations. Senior captains Devin Tringale and Alexander Kerfoot were emotional talking about the loss and how sudden it was. They took a moment to show their pride in the school and talk about the development of the program from a doormat to a national contender.

Harvard’s Magical Season Comes to an End

The Crimson had a historic season this year. They won their first Beanpot since 1993, the 10th ECAC championship, their first NCAA Tournament game since 1994, and made their first Frozen Four since 1994. They established themselves as one of the best programs in the country. Head Coach Ted Donato expressed his pride in his team after the loss, especially his seniors. Clay Anderson, Luke Esposito, Sean Malone, Tyler Moy, Phil Zielonka, and captains Tringale and Kerfoot played their last game as Harvard students tonight.

Minnesota Duluth will play in the Bulldog’s third NCAA championship game and will look to win the program’s second championship. They won their first national crown in 2011 in St. Paul. Head Coach Scott Sandelin led them there before, and he will look to cap his team’s outstanding season with a win in the Windy City.

(Official Box Score)

UND vs. BSU in Pictures, Game 1

UND vs. BSU in Pictures, Game 1

Bemidji, MN --The Univerity of North Dakota traveled down highway two to take on the Bemidji State University. The two teams played to a 3-3 tie. The Fighting Hawks would end up winning the shootout, which will have no bearing on the Pairwise Rankings.. Here are some...

read more
UND Hockey: What Happened to Them?

UND Hockey: What Happened to Them?

Thirteen games into the 2022-23 season, the University of North Dakota men’s hockey team isn’t meeting expectations. After winning a third National Collegiate Hockey Conference regular season title in a row, the Fighting Hawks have fallen on hard times. Through 13...

read more
Judging overreactions at the NHL's quarter mark: 70 goals for McDavid, Bruins the Cup favorite?

With around 20 games in the books for all 32 teams, the hot takes are flying. What's real and what's not? We're here to break it all down. [...]

When will Alex Ovechkin reach 800 goals? Upcoming games, plus highlights

The Washington Capitals star is projected to reach the 800-goal mark this season. Follow along as he chases down this accomplishment. [...]

Bruins win in OT, set NHL record in the process

The Boston Bruins beat the Carolina Hurricanes 3-2 in overtime Friday, setting the NHL record for most home victories to start a season with the win. [...]

Preds postpone 2 games due to water main break

The Nashville Predators postponed home games scheduled for Friday and Saturday because of a water main break that soaked Bridgestone Arena. [...]

Maple Leafs legend, Hall of Famer Salming dies

Toronto Maple Leafs legend and Hockey Hall of Famer Borje Salming has died. He was 71 and living with Lou Gehrig's disease. [...]

Leafs end Devils' team record-tying 13-game run

The Toronto Maple Leafs snapped New Jersey's 13-game winning streak on Wednesday night, 2-1, leaving the Devils one win shy of a franchise record. [...]

Rangers trade enforcer Reaves to Wild for pick

The Rangers traded enforcer Ryan Reaves to the Wild on Wednesday for a 2025 fifth-round pick. [...]

Maple Leafs put D Rielly (knee) on injured reserve

The injury-riddled Toronto Maple Leafs placed defenseman Morgan Rielly on long-term injured reserve with a knee injury on Tuesday, a day after the veteran was hurt in a collision with… [...]

Bergeron reaches 1,000th point with assist in win

Patrice Bergeron got his 1,000th career point with a second-period assist, becoming the 94th player in NHL history to reach the milestone. [...]

'This kid's a player': Matty Beniers is making a big impact in Seattle

The 20-year old center is excelling on and off the ice and appears on his way to becoming a franchise cornerstone for the Kraken. [...]

Ever wonder what it would be like if your everyday car was a ZAMBONI?!?!?

Wonder no longer…

Check out The Zambonis' latest hit, "Slow Whip"!