Crosby, Bergeron Dominate the 2014 NHL Awards

by | Jun 27, 2014

Crosby, Bergeron Dominate the 2014 NHL Awards

by | Jun 27, 2014

Sidney Crosby (Pittsburgh Penguins) and Patrice Bergeron (Boston Bruins) dominated the 2014 NHL Awards on Tuesday night, each walking away with three awards a piece.

Crosby was previously named the winner of the Art Ross Trophy after he led the league in points at the end of the season. This is his second time winning the award.

The NHLPA voted him “Most Outstanding Player,” making this his second back-to-back Ted Lindsay Award. He was also awarded with the Hart Trophy for being the player adjudged to be the most valuable to his team.

“I feel like I can create more,” Crosby said of his individual goals for the future. “There’s still a level I can get to. I feel like before I got hurt, that’s probably the best I felt. I’d like to get back to that point. I feel like I got to that point this year. I feel like I was consistent and that was a product of our team, the guys around me. I feel like I can improve and learn a lot more. That’s exciting. I think with the group of guys we have, I think they all have that mentality. In knowing that, I’m getting better and hopefully getting some better results.”

The winner of the EA SPORTS NHL 15 cover vote is Patrice Bergeron (Boston Bruins). Bergeron also walked away with the Frank Selke Trophy (best defensive forward) and the NHL Foundation Player Award for Outstanding Charitable and Community Work.

Dominic Moore (New York Rangers) was awarded with the Bill Masterton Trophy, which is given to the player that best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. After his wife was diagnosed with a rare cancer, Moore took a break from the game to care for his wife. In January 2013, he lost Katie. That fall, he tried to return to the game by signing with the New York Rangers. His struggle and perseverance to get back into top form and move forward has been a long and difficult journey that led him and his team all the way to the Stanley Cup Finals.

The Colorado Avalanche took away three trophies. Patrick Roy won the Jack Adams award (NHL Coach of the Year). Nathan MacKinnon took away the Calder Trophy (NHL Rookie of the Year). Ryan O’Reilly took away the Lady Byng, receiving 110 first-place votes from the 137 ballots cast.

O’Reilly led the Avalanche in goals (28), power play goals (9), game winners (6-tied), and led the NHL in takeaways (83). He received only one minor penalty this season, joining Butch Goring (1977-78) as the only players to receive two or less PIMs in 80 games.

“I asked my parents,” O’Reilly said of whether he would have been selected for the Lady Byng when he was younger. “They said I had the worst temper ever in the family. I tend to lose it. I tend, when I lose a game, I tend to get a little emotional and all, a little upset, which is something I obviously try to work on.

“On the ice, my dad has always said ‘You can’t score goals from the penalty box.’ He said if you want to get back at someone, you want to hurt the team the most, you got to put the puck in the net. You got to score. You’ve got to beat them. That’s the only way to truly hurt a team. It’s been a guideline I abide and play by.”

Boston Bruins’ Tuukka Rask took home the Vezina Trophy (NHL Goaltender of the Year).

Here is the full list of the 2014 NHL Award Winners:

Award Winners

Ted Lindsay Award — Sidney Crosby (Pittsburgh Penguins)
Selke Trophy — Patrice Bergeron (Boston Bruins)
Masterton Trophy — Dominic Moore (New York Rangers)
Calder Trophy — Nathan MacKinnon (Colorado Avalanche)
Art Ross Trophy — Sidney Crosby (Pittsburgh Penguins)
Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy — Alexander Ovechkin (Washington Capitals)
King Clancy Memorial Trophy — Andrew Ference (Edmonton Oilers)
NHL Foundation Award — Patrice Bergeron (Boston Bruins)
Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award — Dustin Brown (LA Kings)
Norris Trophy — Duncan Keith (Chicago Blackhawks)
Jack Adams Award – Patrick Roy (Colorado Avalanche)
EA NHL15 Cover Vote Winner — Patrice Bergeron (Boston Bruins)
William M. Jennings Trophy — Jonathan Quick (LA Kings)
Lady Byng Trophy — Ryan O’Reilly (Colorado Avalanche)
General Manager of the Year — Bob Murray (Anaheim Ducks)
Vezina Trophy — Tuukka Rask (Boston Bruins)
Hart Trophy — Sidney Crosby (Pittsburgh Penguins)

Brady-Faced Assassin

Brady-Faced Assassin

If the name Brady Tkachuk catches your ear, it’s for good reason. Call him the Baby-Faced Assassin, because Tkachuk puts it to the other team night after night.

read more
NHL trends at the quarter mark of 2022-23: Which will continue?

Offense continues to boom, teams continue to use the "power kill" strategy, and there are fewer empty-net goals. We predict which changes will stick. [...]

When will Alex Ovechkin reach 800 goals? Our updated tracker

The Washington Capitals star is projected to reach the 800-goal mark this season. Follow along as he chases down this accomplishment. [...]

Stars F Hintz signs 8-year, $67.6M extension

Dallas Stars forward Roope Hintz, 26, has signed an eight-year, $67.6 million contract extension through the 2030-31 season. [...]

Fired employee files complaint against Canucks

Canucks Sports & Entertainment, the parent company for the NHL team, said in response to Rachel Doerrie's complaint: "We acted in good faith and abided by our contractual obligations, both… [...]

Barkov will miss beginning of Panthers' road trip

Florida Panthers captain Aleksander Barkov, who is dealing with a non-COVID-19 illness, will not join the team for the start of its upcoming road trip, coach Paul Maurice said on… [...]

Bruins win in OT, set NHL record in the process

The Boston Bruins beat the Carolina Hurricanes 3-2 in overtime Friday, setting the NHL record for most home victories to start a season with the win. [...]

Preds postpone 2 games due to water main break

The Nashville Predators postponed home games scheduled for Friday and Saturday because of a water main break that soaked Bridgestone Arena. [...]

Maple Leafs legend, Hall of Famer Salming dies

Toronto Maple Leafs legend and Hockey Hall of Famer Borje Salming has died. He was 71 and living with Lou Gehrig's disease. [...]

Leafs end Devils' team record-tying 13-game run

The Toronto Maple Leafs snapped New Jersey's 13-game winning streak on Wednesday night, 2-1, leaving the Devils one win shy of a franchise record. [...]

Who passes, who fails? Grading all 32 NHL teams at the quarter mark of 2022-23

The Devils, Bruins and Knights are at the head of the class, while others might be destined for detention. Here's a look at what's gone right and what's gone wrong… [...]

Ever wonder what it would be like if your everyday car was a ZAMBONI?!?!?

Wonder no longer…

Check out The Zambonis' latest hit, "Slow Whip"!