Women’s Weekly: March 22nd, 2013

Bestland, Ciampa, Dingeldein Are CHA’s Best

Mercyhurst forwards Christine Bestland and Jenna Dingeldein and goalie Stephanie Ciampa are the CHA player, rookie, and goalie of the week for the week ending March 17th.

Bestland had two assists; while Dingeldein had the overtime winner; and Ciampa made 29 saves in the 4-3 overtime win over Cornell in the NCAA quarterfinals on Saturday.

Boyles, Lefort, and Sperry Win Hockey East Awards

Boston College goalie Corrine Boyles and Boston University teammates forward Sarah Lefort and goalie Kerrin Sperry are the Hockey East player, rookie, and defensive players of the week.

Boyles made 30 saves as the Eagles skated to a 3-1 win over Harvard in the NCAA quarters on Saturday.

Lefort found the back of the net twice; while Sperry made 34 saves in the Terriers’ 5-3 win over Brown in the NCAA quarters on Saturday.

CCM All-American Teams Announced

Five players competing for an NCAA Women’s National Collegiate Ice Hockey Championship in Minneapolis, Minnesota, this weekend have been honored as 2013 CCM DIVISION I WOMEN’S ICE HOCKEY ALLAMERICANS, it was announced Thursday by the American Hockey Coaches Association. Undefeated and untied NCAA semifinalist Minnesota leads the way with three First Team selections, followed by two each from NCAA semifinalist Boston College, Cornell, North Dakota, and Wisconsin. The remaining honoree is from Northeastern University.

Noteworthy among the selections:

Seven players have been previously honored, including Cornell’s senior defenseman Lauriane Rougeau, who was named a Second Team selection for the fourth year in a row. Jocelyne Lamoureux of North Dakota and Megan Bozek of Minnesota are repeat First Team selections from 2012 and Minnesota goalie Noora Raty returns to the First Team where she was last named in 2010. Minnesota’s Amanda Kessel is the only unanimous First Team choice.

Ten players come from the United States; one comes from Canada; and one comes from Finland.

There are seven seniors, three juniors and two sophomores.

Sisters Jocelyne and Monique Lamoureux, both seniors at the University of North Dakota, are repeat honorees.

Seven selections came from the WCHA, three from Hockey East and two from the ECAC

The CCM Hockey All-American Ice Hockey Teams are sponsored by CCM Hockeyand chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

First Team
Goalie Noora Raty, SR, University of Minnesota +$ (Espoo, Finland)
Defense Megan Bozek, SR, University of Minnesota* (Buffalo Grove, IL)
Defense Monique Lamoureux,SR,Univ. of North Dakota#% (Grand Forks, ND)
Forward Brianne Jenner, JR, Cornell University (Dousman, WI)
Forward Amanda Kessel, JR, University of Minnesota# (Madison, WI)
Forward Jocelyne Lamoureux, SR, Univ. of North Dakota* (Grand Forks, ND)

Second Team
Goalie Alex Rigsby, JR, University of Wisconsin (Delafield, WI)
Defense Blake Bolden, SR, Boston College (Stow, OH)
Defense Lauriane Rougeau, SR, Cornell University#+& (Beaconsfield, PQ)
Forward Alex Carpenter, SO, Boston College (North Reading, MA)
Forward Kendall Coyne, SO, Northeastern University (Palos Heights, IL)
Forward Brianna Decker, SR, University of Wisconsin*+ (Dousman, WI)
*First Team in 2012; #Second Team in 2012; + Second Team in 2011; $First Team in 2010; & Second Team in 2010; % Second Team in 2009

Courtesy Hockey East

CWHL Announces Award Winners

The CWHL announced their award winners on Wednesday night.

CWHL regular season champion: Boston Blades (39 points in the 2012-13 season)

Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Award: Sami Jo Small (Toronto Furies goaltender and Canadian Women’s Hockey League co-founder)

Humanitarian Award: Samantha Holmes-Domagala (Canadian Women’s Hockey League operations assistant)

Angela James Bowl: Meghan Agosta-Marciano (Montreal Stars forward with 46 points for regular season scoring title)

Coach of the Year: Digit Murphy (Boston Blades head coach)

Rookie of the Year: Ann-Sophie Bettez (Montreal Stars forward and McGill University alumna)

Goaltender of the Year: Geneviève Lacasse (Boston Blades netminder with a 1.26 goals against average in 14 games played)

Defenceman of the Year: Catherine Ward (Montreal Stars defenceman with 13 points in 21 games played)

Most Valuable Player: Hilary Knight (Boston Blades forward with 32 points in 24 games played)

“We are so proud of our award winners, and also of every single player, coach, administrator and volunteer who has made our league what it is today,” Canadian Women’s Hockey League chairman Brad Morris said. “This has been a tremendous year for the CWHL, and for women’s hockey as a whole, and we can’t wait to see the female game continue to grow and prosper.”

In addition to welcoming all players competing at the 2013 Clarkson Cup, this year’s CWHL Awards Night featured Canada’s National Women’s Team alumna Cheryl Pounder as emcee and former senior advisor to the Maple Leaf Sports & Entertainment board of directors Brian Burke as guest speaker. Canada’s National Women’s Team alumnae and women’s hockey pioneers Jennifer Botterill, Thérèse Brisson and Angela James also attended as CWHL special guests.

The top four teams from the 2012-13 CWHL regular season advanced to the 2013 Clarkson Cup, with Boston finishing first at 39 points, Montreal taking second at 37 points, Brampton claiming third with 22 points and Toronto finishing in fourth place with 21 points total. The Montreal Stars are vying for their third straight Clarkson Cup, which was named after former Governor General of Canada Adrienne Clarkson. The Clarkson Cup is quickly becoming known as The Stanley Cup of women’s hockey, and as of March 7 has a permanent home in the Hockey Hall of Fame in downtown Toronto.

Courtesy CWHL

The Games This Week

NCAA quarterfinal action got underway Saturday with four games.

Dingeldein, Gina Buquet, Caroline Luczak, and Stephanie DeSutter scored for Mercyhurst in their 4-3 NCAA quarterfinal win over Cornell. Jillian Saulnier, Brianne Jenner, and Jess Brown scored for the Big Red.

Caitlin Walsh, Carpenter, and Haley Skarupa found the back of the net for Boston College in their 3-1 win over Harvard. Mary Parker scored for the Crimson.

Boston University skated to a 5-3 win over Clarkson. Scoring for the Terriers were Lefort with a pair; while Louise Warren, Marie-Philip Poulin, and Jenelle Kohanchuk added singles. Shannon MacAulay, Christine Lambert, and Erin Rose added the Golden Knight’s markers.

Hannah Brandt, Kelly Terry, and Kessel scored for Minnesota as the Golden Gophers needed three overtimes to keep their undefeated season alive with a 3-2 win over North Dakota. Ashley Furia and Meghan Dufault scored for North Dakota.

There was only one game in the CWHL as Brampton skated to a 7-0 win over Toronto. Gillian Apps, Jayna Hefford, and Cherie Piper had two goals each; and Lori Dupuis had a single.



Comments are closed.