The 2008 Rosie Awards

Welcome to the first annual Rosie Awards. Today we celebrate the best in all of hockey (pro, minors, juniors and college). Without further ado, let’s get started.

The Categories Include:

  • The Bada Bing Trophy (Goon of the Year)

  • The What Was I Doing Moment of the Year (Blooper Trophy)
  • The Future Trophy (Best Prospect)
  • The SportsCenter Moment of the Year (Best Play)
  • The Player of the Year (pro, minors, juniors, college)

Let’s kick this show off with a bang:

The Bada Bing Trophy (Goon of the year)

The Winner: Daniel Carcillo (Phoenix Coyotes)

Carcillo led the league in Penalty Minutes in just 57 games this year. Also of note, eight misconducts and four game misconducts in 2007-08. Carcillo defined goon in 2007-08 with a lot of fights as he protected his top players such as Shane Doan.

The What was I doing Moment of the Year (Top Blooper)

The Winner: Chris Burton dropping the CHL Memorial Cup

How obvious can this get! The trophy looks like it’s made of plastic. Come on, I could’ve made a better trophy. Nevertheless, it was a moment to remember. Imagine if the Stanley Cup was dropped.

The Future Trophy (Best Prospect)

The Winner: Steven Stamkos (Sarina, Ontario Hockey League)

That’s another obvious call! The next top draft choice will make an immediate impact for the Lightning; 58 goals and 47 assists in this 2007-08 season. Is he the next savior of the Tampa Bay Lightning? A line of Vincent Lecavalier, Martin St. Louis and him could be dangerous for years to come.

The SportsCenter Moment (Top Play)

The Winner: Joe Whitney’s diving goal in the 2008 NCAA Northeast Regional vs. Miami.

This was the goal of all goals. A shot from Dan Bertram was stopped by Miami goaltender Jeff Zatkoff. However, in one of the most thrilling plays in NCAA Hockey history, Whitney dove for the puck and took a smack at it and it went in past Zatkoff to send the Eagles to the Frozen Four where they eventually became national champions. It’s a Bobby Orr-type play that no one in attendance at the DCU Center in Worcester will ever forget.

Player of the Year (College)

The Winner: Nathan Gerbe, F, Boston College

Gerbe did not win the Hobey Baker award, however, his play in the NCAA tournament (especially the Frozen Four) earned him top dog in the college player of the year.

Player of the Year (Juniors)

The Winner: Steven Stamkos, F, Sarina (OHL)

Need I say more? He has now won two Rosie Awards.

Player of the Year (Minors)

Jason Krog, F, Chicago Wolves (AHL)

Krog’s 112 points (39 G, 73 A) were tops in the AHL by a wide margin. Martin St. Pierre came in second in scoring with 88 points, 24 points behind Krog. Another obvious choice in this category.

Player of the Year (NHL)

Alexander Ovechkin, F, Washington Capitals

When was the last time someone scored 65 goals scored in one year? Quite awhile ago and he is the winner of the first ever Rosie Award for Pro Player of the Year. Say what you want about Sidney Crosby, but, Ovechkin is fun to watch in person, and my estimation, the most exciting player in the NHL. He and Crosby will do wonders to this league.

And with that, the 2007-08 season is over. See you in 2008-09!


Comments are closed.