RC Willey Kelly Cup Finals open Friday

BOISE – After two tough semifinal series, the Cincinnati Cyclones and Idaho Steelheads will face off Friday in Game 1 of the ECHL’s RC Willey Kelly Cup at Qwest Arena. Idaho is 3-1 all-time against the Cyclones, but the two teams have not played since Idaho’s first season in the ECHL (2003-04).

Idaho is 8-1-1 in the postseason, defeating the Utah Grizzlies and Stockton Thunder. Cincinnati is 11-7-1, knocking off the defending champion South Carolina Stingrays, the Charlotte Checkers, and the Reading Royals.

Each of Cincinnati’s three playoff series have gone the distance and the Cyclones became the first team in ECHL history to overcome a 3-0 deficit to win a best-of-seven series in the American Conference finals against Reading.

Dustin Sproat (8 goals, 9 assists) and Barret Ehgoetz (9 goals, 7 assists) have been Cincinnati’s top playoff scorers. Marty Flichel (5 goals, 11 assists), Mark McCutcheon (7 goals, 8 assists), and Evan Barlow (5 goals, 9 assists) have led Idaho’s offensive attack. Derek Laxdal is the fifth-year head coach of the Steelheads and Chuck Weber is in his fourth season as the head coach of the Cyclones. Idaho has two Kelly Cup championships since joining the ECHL (2004, 2007) and Cincinnati has one (2008).

Kelly Cup finals schedule (all times Mountain):

Game 1: Cincinnati at Idaho, Friday, 7 PM
Game 2: Cincinnati at Idaho, Saturday, 7 PM
Game 3: Idaho at Cincinnati, Tuesday (May 18), 5:30 PM
Game 4: Idaho at Cincinnati, Thursday (May 20), 5:30 PM
Game 5 (if necessary): Idaho at Cincinnati, Friday (May 21), 5:30 PM
Game 6 (if necessary): Cincinnati at Idaho, Tuesday (May 25), 7 PM
Game 7 (if necessary): Cincinnati at Idaho, Wednesday (May 26), 7 PM


Comments are closed.