Photo Gallery: Aces @ Reign (12/1/12)

The Alaska Aces defeated the Ontario Reign 4-3 in overtime Saturday evening at Citizens Business Bank Arena.  NHL fans in the arena were excited to see some NHL players skating for both teams.  Alaska currently features four NHL players, all Alaska natives: Joey Crabb, Brandon Dubinsky, Scott Gomez, and Nate Thompson.  The Ontario Reign feature current NHL players Kyle Clifford and Devin Setoguchi as well as former NHL defenseman Paul Mara.

Fans were treated to a great game of hockey.  The Reign broke open the scoring in the second period with back-to-back goals from Derek Couture and Kyle Clifford less than a minute apart.  The Aces answered back with two goals of their own from Nate Thompson and Zach Harrison.  Reign forward Kyle Kraemer gave the Reign the lead with less than a minute left in the second period.  Aces forward Tommy Mele scored midway through the third period to send the game into overtime.  And a rocket off the stick of Kane Lafranchise from just outside the faceoff circles capped off a great come from behind victory on the road for the Alaska Aces.

Aces goaltender Gerald Coleman stopped 22-of-25 shots and improved his record to 4-0.  Reign goaltender J.F. Berube stopped 20-of-24 shots and his record fell to 6-2-1.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.