NCAA Rules: Net Dis-lodgement Change

YouTube Preview Image

This is one of the NCAA Ice Hockey Rule Committee changes that I really like and I am really excited about going forward; there was no reason the Michigan State goal against Union in last season’s regional quarter finals shouldn’t have counted, if you watch the video you will see the net was momentarily dislodged because the Union defender hits the net with his back. The NHL already has this rule in place that says the goal will count when at least a portion of the flexible peg(s) are still inside both the goal post and the hole in the ice.

Net dislodgement change

The committee also adjusted its rules dealing with the goal cage becoming dislodged. The committee essentially moved to the NHL rule in this area, which allows some displacement of the goal as long as the posts remain in contact with the pegs or pins.

“Our rules currently don’t allow for much leeway, and we believe we have disallowed too many goals that really should count,” McLaughlin said. “The NHL rules have been used effectively, and we believe this is a positive change.”

To award a goal in these situations, the goal post must have been displaced by the actions of a defending player. To award a goal, the referee must determine that the puck would have entered the net between the normal position of the goal posts.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments are closed.