Inside Hockey’s Guide to the NHL Awards

It’s that time of year again.  The Stanley Cup has been lifted and now the Cup heads to Las Vegas for the NHL Awards.  Inside Hockey will take you behind-the-scenes in Las Vegas for the Awards.

NHL Awards Schedule

The NHL trophies will be on display at the MGM Grand Hotel & Casino (3799 Las Vegas Blvd. South) from Friday, June 20 starting at 1:00 p.m. (PT) and running through Sunday, June 22 at 8:00 pm (PT).

The NHL Awards nominees and celebrities will walk the red carpet starting at 2:00 p.m. (PT) at the Encore.  The Awards show will begin at 4:00 p.m. (PT) at the Encore Theater.  NBCSN and CBS will be broadcasting the show.

The Nominees

  • Anaheim Ducks: Ryan Getzlaf (Messier, Hart, Ted Lindsay) and Bob Murray (NHL GM of the Year)
  • Boston Bruins: Patrice Bergeron (NHL Foundation, Selke), Zdeno Chara (Norris) and Tuukka Rask (Vezina)
  • Carolina Hurricanes: Manny Malhotra (Masterton)
  • Chicago Blackhawks: Duncan Keith (Norris, NHL Foundation) and Jonathan Toews (Messier, Selke)
  • Colorado Avalanche: Nathan MacKinnon (Calder), Ryan O’Reilly (Lady Byng), Patrick Roy (Jack Adams) and Semyon Varlamov (Vezina)
  • Detroit Red Wings: Mike Babcock (Jack Adams)
  • LA Kings: Dustin Brown (Messier), Anze Kopitar (Selke) and Dean Lombardi (NHL GM of the Year)
  • Montreal Canadiens: Marc Bergevin (NHL GM of the Year)
  • Nashville Predators: Shea Weber (Norris)
  • New Jersey Devils: Jaromir Jagr (Masterton)
  • New York Rangers: Dominic Moore (Masterton) and Martin St. Louis (Lady Byng)
  • Philadelphia Flyers: Claude Giroux (Hart, Ted Lindsay)
  • Pittsburgh Penguins: Sidney Crosby (Hart, Ted Lindsay)
  • San Jose Sharks: Brent Burns (NHL Foundation) and Patrick Marleau (Lady Byng)
  • Tampa Bay Lightning: Ben Bishop (Vezina), Jon Cooper (Jack Adams), Ondrej Palat (Calder) and Tyler Johnson (Calder)

The Winners

  • Edmonton Oilers: Andrew Ference (King Clancy)
  • Pittsburgh Penguins: Sidney Crosby (Art Ross)
  • Washington Capitals: Alexander Ovechkin (Maurice “Rocket” Richard)
  • LA Kings: Jonathan Quick (Jennings)

Who to Expect

Besides the Nominees, here’s who you can expect to see in attendance.

  • TV and Radio Broadcaster George Stroumboulopoulos (@strombo) will be the host of the NHL Awards
  • Members of the 2014 Stanley Cup champion Los Angeles Kings: Dustin Brown and Anze Kopitar
  • Current and former NHLers: PK Subban, Chris Pronger, Rich Peverley, Danny DeKeyser, Michael Peca, Luc Robitaille, Ted Lindsay, Mark Messier
  • Celebrities David Boreanaz (“Bones”), Cuba Gooding Jr. (“The Butler”), Retta (“Parks and Recreation”), Eric Stonestreet (“Modern Family”), and David Walton (“About a Boy”)
  • Pre-taped appearances from Michael J. Fox (“Family Ties”), Susan Sarandon (“Tammy”), James Lipton (“Inside the Actor’s Studio”), Kevin Connolly (“Entourage”) and Whoopi Goldberg (“The View”)
  • Doc Emrick and Eddie Olczyk will announce the winner of the EA SPORTS’ NHL 15 Cover Vote
  • Performances from Jabbawockeez, Phillip Phillips and DJ Steve Porter

Behind-the-Scenes Coverage

You can follow Inside Hockey correspondents Michelle Kenneth and Winter Adams at the NHL Awards for behind-the-scenes coverage in Las Vegas.

On Twitter: @MichelleKenneth, @Winter_Adams, @thepinkpuck

On Instagram: msmichellekenneth, winter_adams, thepinkpuck

You can also follow @NHL on Twitter for more behind-the-scenes coverage.  Use the official hashtag #NHLAwards.



Comments are closed.