2010 Rosie Awards Preview

Just when you thought you were all safe from a year without the Rosie Awards, well think again because the 2010 version is just around the corner.

Over the next few weeks, yours truly will be handing out awards from the year that was from players, management and the hockey media. So sit back, relax and get your popcorn ready.

(Wait, I can’t use that line? You’re telling me that I can’t quote TO in this hockey award show? Who knew?)

OK so rather than steal a line from TO its time to sit back, relax and enjoy the ride. But for now, here is a preview of what’s in store this year.

Our musical performances this year feature the Hockey Night in Canada Theme, the 1989 Calgary Flames Stanley Cup team and some other notable performers from the hockey world will pop in as well. We’ll also have a cameo from some famous angry caller north of the border, and we’ll throw in a few more surprises along the way.

So what should you expect for the award portion of the show? Well, our fine staff of panelists comprised of the top hockey media from the blogosphere and the mainstream media have chipped in with their input on the best the hockey world had to offer in 2010.

(What’s that? They already did a hockey award show in Vegas? Well, what a waste of time that was for them and I bet they lost a lot of money at the Casinos.)

Well then, apparently I have been informed that since no one wanted to be a panelist. That means yours truly will once again be the only one in the Rosie award selection committee.

This year, I’ll be honoring the best moments in the hockey world through the performances of the players, the management and the hockey media. Certain awards include the return of the Bada Bing Trophy (for goon of the year), the Let’s Make a Deal award for GM of the year and the Let’s Try to Make a Deal award, and the first installment of the hockey media rivalry of the year will also be featured in the media portion.

The 2010 Rosie Awards kick off next Friday as we honor the best players. Here’s the list of awards that will be displayed on December 3rd (along with the list of finalists)

Bada Bing Trophy (Goon of the Year)

Paul Bissonnette – Phoenix Coyotes
Shawn Thornton – Boston Bruins
Matt Cooke – Pittsburgh Penguins
Daniel Carcillo – Philadelphia Flyers (2008 Winner)
Sean Avery – New York Rangers (2009 Winner)

The Brotherly Love Trophy*

The Sedin Twins – Henrik and Daniel
The Brothers Kostitsyn – Sergei and Andrei (2009 Winners)
The Staal Trio – Eric, Jordan and Marc

The Future Award*

P.K. Subban – Montreal Canadiens
John Carlson – Washington Capitals
Taylor Hall – Windsor Spitfires/Edmonton Oilers
Tyler Seguin – Plymouth Whalers/Boston Bruins
Sergei Bobrovsky – KHL/Philadelphia Flyers

Player of the Year (NHL)*

Steven Stamkos – Tampa Bay Lightning
Sidney Crosby – Pittsburgh Penguins (2009 Winner)
Alexander Ovechkin – Washington Capitals (2008 Winner)
Ryan Miller – Buffalo Sabres
Henrik Sedin – Vancouver Canucks

Player of the Year (AHL)*

Alexandre Giroux – Hershey Bears
Keith Aucoin – Hershey Bears
Jason Krog – Chicago Wolves
Jonathan Bernier – Manchester Monarchs
P.K. Subban – Hamilton Bulldogs

Player of the Year (Juniors/NCAA)*

Taylor Hall – Windsor Spitfires
Tyler Seguin – Plymouth Whalers
Blake Geoffrion – Wisconsin Badgers
Cam Atkinson – Boston College Eagles
Cam Fowler – US U-18 Team

*Based on the 2010 calendar year and not the 2009-10 season

END NOTE: The notes in italics are from yours truly as a cheap attempt to draw a little more humor. They will also be displayed during the award portion of the show.

Hope everyone has a great Turkey Day. See you next week with the first installment of the 2010 Rosie Awards!


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “2010 Rosie Awards Preview”

  1. Chuck Tay
    November 24, 2010 at 11:45 pm #

    Bada Bing Trophy and your not even considering Zenon Konopka NYIsles? Already 102 PIM in only 21 games, and a raving lunatic to boot. Any list of goons without him in it just isn’t right.

  2. Tim Rosenthal
    November 29, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    Chuck, just because he leads the league in penalty minutes doesn’t mean he’s necessarily a good candidate. You look at the list and there’s some players who drop the gloves, some players who have been subject to the Colin Campbell wheel of justice and there are some who are pretty outspoken on that list — like Paul Bissonnette on twitter. If I just took PIM’s as the only factor then Konopka would obviously win every year. And while his stats are pretty impressive in fights and PIMs, he isn’t as strong in the other aspects to the award, which is why he is not one of the five finalists.