2010 Rosie Awards (Part 1)

Welcome everyone to the 2010 Rosie Awards!

In this installment, yours truly will honor the players that made 2010 such a memorable season in the hockey world. Let’s get started with our first performance.

Before their Stanley Cup run in 1989, members of the Calgary Flames put out a music video to get fans excited about the team. And thanks to the wonderful technology that is YouTube, we can all relive that performance. So without further ado, here are the 1989 Calgary Flames performing “Those Red Hot Flames”…

Ah yes, trumpets, trumbones, Lanny McDonald, mustaches (as a belated Movember sendoff) and a young Brett Hull. Who can ever forget?

The 1989 Flames everyone. At least they won something big that year, unlike the BC Eagles in 1986. More on that later…

In honor of an appearance from a young Brett Hull in our opening performance, our first award has five prospects that promise to have a bright future in the National Hockey League. Some of them have already paid their dues in the AHL, while others were able to make the jump from the juniors or college ranks and make a pretty good impact in the NHL. With that, here are the nominees for the futures award.

And they are…

John Carlson, D, Washington Capitals
P.K. Subban, D, Montreal Canadiens
Taylor Hall, F, Edmonton Oilers
Tyler Seguin, F, Boston Bruins
Sergei Bobrovsky, G, Philadelphia Flyers

And the winner is…P.K. Subban

The talented Habs defenseman made a good impact during the playoffs and this year he earned his spot as one of the six blue-liners on the Canadiens. The 21-year-old from Toronto tallied 53 points last year with Hamilton (18 G, 35 A) and played in 14 playoff games with Montreal, registering eight points (1 G, 7 A). So far in 22 games, Subban has nine points (1 G, 8 A) and is second amongst the Canadiens’ defensemen in plus/minus with a +6 rating.

And of course we’ll leave you with a highlight of his first career NHL regualar season goal.

After showing that clip, I now know I’m not going to get any homer points from any of the Bruins fans who visit this site. You can leave a comment below or you can reply to me on twitter @rosieshockey. All comments are welcome of course.

Time to send out the goons in the next award. These are guys who not only love to drop the gloves on the ice, but they usually love to speak their minds as well. Here are the nominees for the Bada Bing Award…

Paul Bissonnette – Phoenix Coyotes
Shawn Thornton – Boston Bruins
Matt Cooke – Pittsburgh Penguins
Daniel Carcillo – Philadelphia Flyers
Sean Avery – New York Rangers

And the winner is…Sean Avery

These were all great finalists and to tell you the truth anyone could have won this award. But Mr. Sloppy Seconds himself continues to be the agitator on the ice and he’s still pretty outspoken at times.

In honor of the second anniversary of Sloppy Seconds, which happened two years ago yesterday, here’s the clip from the memorable day in Calgary on December 1, 2008 when Avery was a member of the Dallas Stars.

As a bonus clip, here’s Thornton having fun with the media during the first day of Bruins Training Camp (credit to former IH colleague and current Red Wings social media guru, Jake Duhaime).

As an end note to this award, we should give another plug to Bissonnette, who has posted some hilarious tweets on twitter. You can follow him @BizNasty2point0 for some laugh out loud material.

Moving on to the Brotherly Love trophy, which honors the best brother combination in the NHL during the 2010 season. Here are the nominees…

The Sedin Twins – Henrik and Daniel
The Brothers Kostitsyn – Sergei and Andrei
The Staal Trio – Eric, Jordan and Marc

And the winners are…The Sedin Twins – Henrik and Daniel

The Sedin Twins had a very impressive season, as Daniel was one of the Canucks’ leaders in goals, while Henrik earned the Hart Trophy after leading the league in scoring. This year, the duo are Vancouver’s top two leading scorers (and Daniel leads the team in goals) and will look to lead the Canucks to the Stanley cuP.

It’s now time to honor the players of the year.

Player of the Year (AHL)

Alexandre Giroux – Hershey Bears
Keith Aucoin – Hershey Bears
Jason Krog – Chicago Wolves
Jonathan Bernier – Manchester Monarchs
P.K. Subban – Hamilton Bulldogs

And the winner is…Jonathan Bernier

Player of the Year (Juniors/College)

Taylor Hall – Windsor Spitfires
Tyler Seguin – Plymouth Whalers
Blake Geoffrion – Wisconsin Badgers
Cam Atkinson – Boston College Eagles
Cam Fowler – US U-18 Team/Windsor Spitfires

And the winner is…Tyler Seguin

Maybe this time I’ll get those homer points back from the Bruins fans.

Player of the Year (NHL)

Steven Stamkos – Tampa Bay Lightning
Sidney Crosby – Pittsburgh Penguins
Alexander Ovechkin – Washington Capitals
Ryan Miller – Buffalo Sabres
Henrik Sedin – Vancouver Canucks

And the winner is…Steven Stamkos

Finally, to close out this portion of the show, here’s 1986 Boston College hockey team as they perform the Beanpot Trot.

Ah yes, the Beanpot is two months away, but this brings back memories of course.

See you next week for the Management edition of the Rosie Awards.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


  1. 2010 Rosie Awards (Part 2) | INSIDE HOCKEY - December 10, 2010

    [...] a grand entrance from the 1989 Calgary Flames in part one, another Canadian performance was a must for part two. With that, here is a favorite theme song [...]