2009 Rosie Awards Preview

The 2009 Rosie Awards are back by popular demand and I have some surprises up my sleeve for all of you. First off, let’s go through the selection criteria. The selection criteria are … okay I am the selection criterion. Yours truly has come up with some awards for the 2008-09 hockey season, and created some rather interesting categories for those characters who deserve the awards.

In this “preview” edition of the “Rosies,” I will give you, the reader, the first batch of award nominees. But at the same time, I will be saving some of the awards, that won’t be in the preview, for later.

Some of those awards that I am handing out (not mentioned below) will be surprising. For now however, here are a few awards that will be handed out starting next week.

The Brotherly Love Award

I will say this now; normally the city of Philadelphia would get this award hands down for being the city of Brotherly Love. But, this year we have a few brothers who are deserving of this first-time Rosie Award category.

The Nominees:

The Staal Brothers (Eric, Carolina, Jordan, Pittsburgh, Marc, New York Rangers)
The Kostitsyn Brothers (aka the Brothers Kostitsyn, Sergei and Andrei of Montreal)
The Kaberle Brothers (Frantisek, Carolina, Tomas, Toronto)

The Bada Bing Trophy (Goon of the Year)

Goons are everywhere in hockey, and there were quite a few of them in 2008-09. However, there can only be three finalists, so let’s take a look at the nominees.

Sean Avery (Dallas, New York Rangers, and has the distinction of Mr. Sloppy Seconds)
Daniel Carcillo (Phoenix, Philadelphia, 2008 Rosie Award Winner in this category)
Derek Boogard (Minnesota)

The Let’s Make a Deal Award

Here we have another first-time category where NHL General Managers will get their time for all their moves during the 2008-09 regular season (trades, free agents, etc.)

The Nominees:

Peter Chiarelli (Boston Bruins)
Ray Shero (Pittsburgh Penguins)
Dale Tallon (Chicago Blackhawks)

The Let’s (Try to) Make a Deal Award

This will go to the General Manager who couldn’t pull out all the tricks of the trade in the 2008-09 season.

The Nominees:

Brian Lawton (Tampa Bay Lightning)
Bob Gainey (Montreal Canadiens)
Don Maloney (Phoenix Coyotes)

The Player of the Year Award

And finally, the Player of the year nominees for college, pro and AHL.

Player of the Year (Pro)

Alexander Ovechkin (Washington Capitals, 2008 Award Winner)
Evgeni Malkin (Pittsburgh Penguins)
Sidney Crosby (Pittsburgh Penguins)

Player of the Year (College)

Matt Gilroy (Boston University)
Colin Wilson (Boston University)
Jacques Lamoureux (Air Force)

Player of the Year (AHL)

Alexander Giroux (Hershey Bears)
Jason Krog (Manitoba Moose, 2008 Rosie Award Winner)
Drew MacIntyre (Milwaukee Admirals)


Comments are closed.